Reserve Bank of India (RBI)
The XBRL phase I at the Reserve Bank of India began in the year 2008. In the XBRL system, the returns are being taken up in phases. Seven returns were implemented in the phase I. These returns include Section 42(2) Form A of RBI Act, 1934, daily return on Gap, Positions and Balances (GPB), Returns on Capital Adequacy (RCA2 – a set of regulatory returns designed as per Basel II guidelines), monthly returns like Form VIII, Form X, annual returns like Financial Statement and Form IX.

The implementation of Phase II returns started in year 2012. Taxonomy for internal reporting by banks: Developed by the Reserve Bank of India for various internal reportings like Return on Capital Adequacy, Form-A, Gaps Positions and Balances (GPB), etc.
A list of returns submitted / taken up for development, using XBRL by RBI is available below:

Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA)
Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA) has mandated the filing of financial statements in XBRL format for the specified class of companies as follows:

  • All public companies listed in the stock exchange in India and their Indian subsidiaries.
  • All companies with a turnover of Rs 100 crores or more.
  • All companies with a paid up capital of Rs 5 crores or more.
  • All the companies which are required to prepare their financial statements in accordance with the Companies ( Indian Accounting standards) rules, 2015.

However, Non-banking financial companies, Housing finance companies and Companies engaged in the business of Banking and Insurance sector are exempted from filing of financial statements under these rules.

For more details, please refer link. https://mca.gov.in/XBRL/

Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)
Securities and Exchange Board of India (hereinafter referred as SEBI) was established under an Act of Parliament, to protect the interests of investors in securities and to promote the development of, and to regulate, the securities market and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

India: BSE, NSE and MSE have adopted XBRL

Standardised reporting can be beneficial not just for the submission of information to a given institution but can also be pivotal in the seamless transfer of data between financial market authorities. This is exactly what is now taking place in India. In order to enable easier filings and to make reporting by listed entities to Stock Exchanges more accurate, faster and efficient, the three nationwide exchanges – BSE, NSE and MSE – have adopted XBRL. Taking advice from the Securities and Exchange Board in India (SEBI), the three exchanges will all be using XBRL for reporting.
BSE was the first stock exchange in India that developed, introduced and successfully implemented the relevant XBRL Taxonomies. The BSE now collects earnings releases, shareholding patterns, corporate governance reports, voting results and share capital audit reports all in XBRL

While the BSE has been formally using XBRL since 2015, the expansion of its use into the two other principal exchanges marks a shift toward nationwide standardised reporting.

For XBRL related updates, kindly refer the link : https://www.xbrl.org/tag/sebi/